Lee Daniels and More Honored With the SAG Foundation’s Inaugural Patron of the Artists Award

October 13, 2015

Instyle.com | By Rita Kokshanian


Screen Actors Guild Foundation

The Screen Actors Guild Awards may not be until next year, but the foundation behind the event is already honoring some of the film industry’s key players with a brand new award. The SAG Foundation announced today that director Lee Daniels, producer Megan Ellison, and director Rob Marshall are receiving the first-ever Patron of the Artists Award at their 30th Anniversary Celebration in November.

“This year, the SAG Foundation celebrates 30 years of giving back to the community, and our three Patron of the Artists Award recipients are class acts known for generously contributing to a world-wide community of artists,” JoBeth Williams, the SAG Foundation President, said. “Each has discovered, nurtured, and propelled creative talent both in front and behind the camera – Lee for diversity in storytelling and casting, Megan as a next generation patron for auteur filmmakers, and Rob for reviving the musical genre and giving actors opportunities to showcase different talents. Their legacy and future work are inspirations for fans and filmmakers alike and the SAG Foundation is thrilled to honor them.”

The SAG Foundation previously announced that Leonardo DiCaprio would receive the Actors Inspiration Award at the anniversary gala, which will take place on Nov. 5 in Beverly Hills, Calif.