Lee Daniels, Megan Ellison, Rob Marshall To Be Feted At SAG Foundation 30th Anniversary Gala

October 13, 2015

Deadline.com | By Kinsey Lowe


Screen Actors Guild Foundation

Multi-hyphenates Lee Daniels, Megan Ellison and Rob Marshall will be honored with the Screen Actors Guild Foundation‘s inaugural Patron Of The Artists Awards on November 5 at the organization’s 30th Anniversary Celebration. The tribute has been established to recognize industry figures whose activities have had a positive impact on the acting profession and the performing arts.

The trio were selected for their contributions to artists working in front of and behind the camera. Director-producer-writer Daniels (Empire, The Butler, upcoming Richard Pryor project) is cited for diversity in storytelling and casting. Producer-executive Ellison (David O. Russell’s Joy, Alexander Payne’s Downsizing, Ana Lily Amirpour’s The Bad Batch) is recognized as a patron of next-generation auteurs. Director-producer Marshall (Into The Woods, Nine, Chicago) in lauded for his role in reviving the musical genre and giving actors opportunities to stretch creatively.

Leonardo DiCaprio, as previously announced, will receive the Actors Inspiration Award during the gala benefit Thursday, November 5th at the Wallis Annenberg Center for the Performing Arts in Beverly Hills. Sponsors include Vanity Fair, United Airlines, Champagne Taittinger, Rise Up Foundation and Variety. For tickets and information visit SAGFoundation.org/30Years.